AccordingToUs

The vegetarian lifestyle & Vegan Tempeh Kale Salad

Hi all!

It’s Chelsea. Sorry we haven’t posted much yet. Life has been so hectic- between school and work, but our goal is to blog about 1-2x+ per week. So for today I want to talk about something that I’m very much into; healthy food/eating organic, and being vegetarian. I’ve been vegetarian since 2010, when I saw a video of animals being slaughtered for food chains like Mcdonalds and KFC in the most inhumane ways. That video honestly scarred me, and I couldn’t imagine eating meat after that.  Also, I grew up on a farm and we’ve always had a ton of animals and in 2010 we also bought chickens for the first time. When my mom told me we were getting chickens I just laughed and thought okay…. but as silly as it sounds, the more I was around them, the more I grew a bond with them..they really had the cutest little personalities. We bought ten chickens and I fell in love with one of them, so I decided she was going to be mine and I named her Beyonce (yes I named my chicken after the singer Beyonce…) I never in a million years thought that chickens could be as loving as a pet dog but I was wrong. I probably sound crazy, but I’m not even kidding, she would follow me around when I left her out of her cage, she would hop up for me to hold and cuddle her, and sometimes my mom let us bring her inside and she would sit on my lap while I watched TV. Here is a picture of her 🙂

Image

So those two factors are the main reasons I couldn’t imagine eating chicken, or any meat in general at all anymore. So in the past year I’ve gotten into eating healthier, and I honestly feel a lot better ever since I started doing this.  Although my boyfriend isn’t vegetarian like me, he is very open to trying new things and I’ve definitely introduced him to a lot of new things. We had always cooked together but recently we’ve been getting into it more and coming up with/finding some great healthy recipes that I’d like to share with you!

This recipe is very easy, and it’s a good option for a quick and healthy lunch. First I chopped up a mixture of lettuce and kale and tossed it in some ginger miso dressing (I like the brand Bolthouse). Then I cut up some strips of tempeh and cooked them in a pan with coconut oil until each side was brown. I like tempeh because I like it has better texture/taste than regular old tofu. After adding the tempeh, I added some chopped carrots and honey crisp apples (I personally like to chop them up in the food processor because it’s quick and easy). Next, you can add a few scoopfuls of guacamole, and the last step is to sprinkle some seeds/nuts on top, I chose- chia seeds, flax seeds, pine nuts, and sesame seeds… and there you go ! A healthy and easy salad to eat now, or later! Just place it in the refrigerator for later with the dressing on the side and it’s just as good.Image

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment